Kaleidoscope Card

This card was inspired by a wonderful stamp from OnyxXpressions Rubber Stamps (SG202 – Kaleidoscope).ย  The colors just seemed to put themselves together, and the card went together pretty quickly.

As usual, most of the cardstock is from my massive Club Scrap cardstock collection (except the white, which is Bazzill). I think I’ve made more cards and ATCs from it, than I have scrapbook pages – which is what I originally intended it for. *laugh*

The teal base card is an 8.5″ x 11″ piece of cardstock, cut to make a finished 4″ x 5″ card. I took a piece lighter teal burlap textured cardstock, cut it to size (3.5″ x 4.5″), and wet it, then went over it with green Niji pearlescent watercolor. While the watercolor was still wet, I layed down stripes of the light blue pearlescent watercolor, and then blended them gently. The colors pooled in the pockets on the paper, as I’d hoped, and blended to produce a great shimmery piece. I set aside the damp paper to dry (the longest part of the whole process), and set to work on the next piece.

On white cardstock, I stamped the kaleidoscope image three times in Stewart Palette Black hybrid ink. I gave all three images color with my watercolor crayons (Caran d’Ache), and then cut them out. One piece got trimmed to 3″ x 4″ to be used as the layer on the card, and the other two pieces were cut out – the green layer, and the purple layer – and set aside for later. I rubbed Clearsnap Lime Pastel chalk ink on the corners of the base card, and then dusted over the corners with Clearsnap Green pigment ink.

Close-up of the kaleidoscope

I glued the shimmery teal piece in place on the folded card, and then glued the white cardstock into place. Once the white cardstock was in place, I went over the swirls and gems on the outer edge of the design with Sakura gel pens – Metallic Blue on the outer edge, Clear Stardust on the swirls and Green Stardust on the gems themselves. With that done, I popped the green layer on with pop-dots followed by the purple layer, again popped up with pop-dots.

I finished the whole thing with a strip of the dark teal cardstock glued across the bottom third of the white layer. I wrote the sentiment on (though it could be stamped) using the Metallic Blue gel pen, and finished it with dots of microfine Art Glitter in Juniper Berry.

Thanks for looking, and please leave a comment! I love hearing from visitors. ๐Ÿ™‚

11 responses to “Kaleidoscope Card

  1. Fantastic card. I love the color combination! I wish I could see it in real life to appreciate the total shimmeriness (new word) of it!

    • Thanks Kathi! It’s sometimes really hard to get good angle/lighting to make shimmeriness (I like the new word) really show in a picture. I can’t tell you how many pictures I took trying to get it to show – thank goodness for digital cameras! *laugh*

  2. Nice design, like the sort of Victorian color combo. Wish I could see it in person – I agree with Kathi – it’s hard to imagine what it looks like in “real life” – Post more !

  3. beautiful card…thanks for following me you are so sweet! gerri

  4. What a beautiful card…. love the stamp and your choice of colors. TFS
    and thanks for stopping by and leaving your kind words.

  5. Beautiful!!! Love the design of the stamped image!

  6. Hi Laura! Stellar Card! Welcome to the TCRS team.

Leave a Reply

